• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

1914d gold Indian

16 posts in this topic

Ask a reliable (!) coin dealer (or two or three) if it is genuine. Third party "grading" will likely not result in sufficient increase in sale value to justify the cost.

43 minutes ago, Paul Coppola said:

I inherited this coin from my mother. Do you think I should get it graded. I’m new to coin collecting. 

3339D233-15A8-4BB7-9C8E-F2A19D9D64F6.jpeg

2DF18792-C7AE-44E7-957E-74167252F01E.jpeg

I would put an AU grade on this coin maybe AU55 which is not much above melt value. As RWB mentioned I would have a reputable dealer look at it first. But your going to spend more to have it graded and it will not gain you much if any added value. And since your not a member your going to have to join which is at least $100 to become a member and then additional grading cost. So don’t do it if your planning to resell ably do it if your wanting to keep it well protected forever beings that it’s an inherited coin. But this is just my opinion. Also melt value for this coin is at $456.17 as of yesterday.

Welcome to the forum.

The pictures aren’t real sharp, but from what I can see, the coin should grade at least AU58 and possibly as high as MS63. So it might be worth getting graded.
Below is link to authorized NGC dealers (who could hopefully assess the coin and if warranted, submit it to NGC on your behalf). Enter your zip code in the “location” box and you can see which dealers are in your area.

https://www.ngccoin.com/services/dealer-listing.aspx

Edited to add: Even as an ungraded AU coin, it should currently be worth $500+ wholesale.

Edited by MarkFeld

3 minutes ago, MarkFeld said:

Welcome to the forum.