• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

1983-84 Oympic Commemorative Sets

8 posts in this topic

Hello All,

Will try not to ask too many stupid questions, but some will be I am sure, as I am TOTALLY new to this. I am in the process of selling some coins and trying to determine values. I can't figure out why I am seeing some of the silver dollars issued for the 84 Olympics are selling in the thousand of dollars and complete proof sets well below that. From the little I have gleaned so far on grading and so on, I think my set is an MS70 quality, but obviously that is an unprofessional and biased assessment. But there must be some thing remarkable about some of these silver dollars, which I have been unable, at this point, to find out. Could someone give me a quick heads up on this, thanks, Nigel.

There were several $5 gold coins too, perhaps the sets selling for thousands are b/c they have gold?  I just picked up the discus commemorative at a local club meeting last night, all original packaging, still in the same condition as when minted, for $15.  A couple others went for the same.  You might be able to get melt value, but unless you have the gold I don't think this is a high demand item.

https://www.usmint.gov/about/production-sales-figures/historical-commemorative-coin-sales/1983-1984-us-olympic-coins-los-angeles

On 2/2/2020 at 11:42 AM, Lancek said:

I've been doing this over 5 years.  And have bought a lot of modern commemorative coins.  Including the ones you mentioned.  I can't tell the difference between a 67, 68, 69, or 70.  The differences are that subtle.  I rely on professional graders for that.  And they won't do it unless they have the coin in hand.  So even if you post pics, I doubt anyone can confirm if you have a 70.