• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

11 yr old Newbie

7 posts in this topic

Hey Guys, I am Eleven yrs old and my stepfather got me into coin-collecting. I just was wanting to ask some questions on like how to start, and what I can do to see how I can be better. Yeah I'm a noob!

Hey Josh, welcome to the boards! There are a ton of very knowledgeable people here that are always willing to lend a hand. If you are just starting out I would take some time and explore the things that interest you. Do not be too worried about focusing on something specific but rather just explore whatever catches your eye. Do you currently have a particular coin that really interests you? I got my start with mercury dimes, and now 20 years later, my interests have shifted considerably. 

The best advice I can give is to collect what you like and do plenty of research!! Check out the values, mintage figures, and history of the coins you think are cool. 

Thank you, the coins Im looking at are old penny's and for the errors, and the quarters particular the new ones on like the W's. Thanks again for the offer on helping me.

4 hours ago, Josh07 said:

Thank you, the coins Im looking at are old penny's and for the errors, and the quarters particular the new ones on like the W's. Thanks again for the offer on helping me.

YNs--Young Numismatists--are widely believed to be the essential lifeblood of the hobby. Without you and your contemporaries, it doesn't continue. I don't know any coin collector worth a dateless Buffalo who won't take time to help the younger hobbyists grow their understanding of numismatics. So, very glad to see you, and ask away with any questions.

19 hours ago, Josh07 said: