• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Milk spots on Silver coins

5 posts in this topic

My question is can milk spots occur or appear from environmental exposure over time or are they caused by the minting process? I have read several posts, but it has not been clear to me. I originally was under the assumption that milk spots occurred from the minting process and toning was the environment's influences on the coin? Any comments or directions to information would be helpful and greatly appreciated.

I deal a lot with 1964 and earlier proofs. the 64 Kennedys are plagued with "milk spots". I am no expert, but here is what I "think" I have found.

First of all, at this point, I think there are two different types of "milk spots". One being the product of whatever minting process where some sort of acid sort of "etched" into the surface of the coin, over time. Those are there to stay, and from what I understand there is no safe way to remove them.

The second type can be "improved" and in some cases removed safely by experts, NCS is amazing based on what I know. Im not sure what these ones are, I was told once that it was PVC but I have no idea....

That's what I know about milk spots on silver.

Hi,

The issue of milk spots on recently (last 10 years?) minted silver coins appears to be a problem related to the planchet (coin blank) production process.

According to a recent article ( https://www.texmetals.com/news/the-origin-of-mint-made-defects-on-bullion-coins/ ), the likely source of the development of milk spots on many recent silver coins is a lubricant that has been introduced recently into the planchet production process.