• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Another newbie with some coins

23 posts in this topic

I have no knowledge about coins, but have a box of old coins that I intend to learn about and catalogue. I know that none of them are as pristine as the outstanding coins pictured on this forum. But I would be interested in opinions on the two coins in attached photos.

Which is a better coin and why? What should I look for?

Thanks - I am overwhelmed by your knowledge.

89709.jpg.80fd29d10989c30a481bcb22e167d29f.jpg

89710.jpg.14295192c5ea86971372492ed8e881de.jpg

Welcome JRF! I'm not real good with the series but the 1842 looks a better coin to me. It has better detail than the 1846. I think the color is a little more natural on the 1846 than the 1842. Maybe others with more knowledge on these will chime in.

oh my hands DOWN THE 1842 is not only the much better date but also in details too as it is 5-8 points sharper than the 1846

but the 1842 is soap and watered but it is still a market acceptable coloration from the photos BUT THIS MIGHT JUST BE FROM THE PHOTOS AND LIGHTING AS THE REVERSE OF THE 1842 LOOKS GOOD TO ME but unfortunately all we got on here are the photos and not in hand sight seen appraisle

but your photography skills are much better than many dealer websites

both are really neat in demand and highly collectible coins

also welcome to the boards! hope to see more of you around here my friend

I concur that the 1842 is the nicer one due to much better detail. As earlier posted, the color on the 1842 may be questionable, hard to tell.

That's my 2 cents (pun intended).