• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

1859 Canada One Cent need an expert please

9 posts in this topic

I have a Canada Large One Cent Coin

I'm looking for help in identifying the Variety and Grade off this coin, there are so many different one I can't figure it out.

Cananyone shed some light for me please?

20210626_090331[1].jpg

20210626_090255[1].jpg

I’m not an expert on these as there are probably about 200 different varieties and die pairings with many being minor or sub varieties but looking at your coin, it is not a 9 over 8 nor do I see any repunched letters or numbers which make up most of the more valuable varieties so for now I would have to say it is just a regular 1859 Vickie although it could be a minor variety. Perhaps someone else with more knowledge could give there opinion.

Here is a source for information on vickies by the foremost expert

vickycents.com

Edited by Greenstang

21 minutes ago, Greenstang said:

I’m not an expert on these as there are probably about 200 different varieties and die pairings with many being minor or sub varieties but looking at your coin, it is not a 9 over 8 nor do I see any repunched letters or numbers which make up most of the more valuable varieties so for now I would have to say it is just a regular 1859 Vickie although it could be a minor variety. Perhaps someone else with more knowledge could give there opinion.

Here is a source for information on vickies by the foremost expert

vickycents.com

And here I was hoping for brasslol

20 hours ago, Greenstang said:

Even that is sometimes debateable. Where do you draw the line between a Brass or Bronze coin.