1834 bust cap half dime LM3
1 1

21 posts in this topic

Any way you can post some clearer pics? I have some concerns, but want to withhold comments until it’s clearer. This year did have some serious die clashes in and around the face area. That part isn’t surprising. 

2 minutes ago, Just Bob said:

I don't think it is real.

I agree.  I'm no expert, and would never claim to be, but there is something about the Obverse that looks off to me.  I do hope I am wrong and good luck with it.

I am also in the not real camp, especially the reverse.  Note the bubbles under the right wing, and the overall field roughness.  Spark erosion maybe? 

Both side are fake, and there's no "mint mark." The edge probably says "Free egg roll 'till 6pm"

A real coin was not "put back in the press again" intentionally.

Please buy a copy of the Guide Book of United States Coins and study the photos and descriptions. Go to auction sites and look for the same coin by date and variety. Ask members here for specialty site suggestions, etc.

Edited by RWB

2 hours ago, RWB said:

Both side are fake, and there's no "mint mark." The edge probably says "Free egg roll 'till 6pm"

I love you guys. You tell it like it is. That is the truth.

• Member: Seasoned Veteran

It looks real---just clashed and severely eroded dies. The only negative is for cleaning.

Capped Bust Half Dimes are attributed by die states, such as LM-4.1, LM-4.2, etc. This is clearly one of the later states, though it would not have been unusual for the mint to then polish the dies to remove the erosion lines, resulting in a die state that could generate a PL designation in the grading process.

4 hours ago, RWB said:

A real coin was not "put back in the press again" intentionally.

Please buy a copy of the Guide Book of United States Coins and study the photos and descriptions. Go to auction sites and look for the same coin by date and variety. Ask members here for specialty site suggestions, etc.