• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

I received my first ever Daniel Carr coin!
1 1

19 posts in this topic

I've wanted a Dan Carr for as long as I've known about them and I finally got one! I received the MCMXXI (2021 Counter-stamped) blue toning heavily worn Peace Dollar... I'm new to this so I'm trying to figure out how to make my file small enough to post the pictures

-UD04

That's not a coin. 

At best, we'd consider it a fantasy piece. 

However, since the US Mint will be issuing 2021 dated Peace dollars, we should probably consider more negative terms for this. 

Some might congratulate you for this piece... I have extremely few nice things to say about problematic and legally questionable items like this from an individual who's fostered countless controversies. 

While not a coin - by accepted definition or legal status, it is in my opinion a representation of a government and fine arts commission approved coin (or partially that is, I believe the obverse with roman numerals was an initial (early) rendition that was submitted for approval and was never paired with the exact reverse as seen in OPs post). I believe Roger would be a good source to correct my possibly misguided opinion. I am not that knowledgeable in this series - although I do like them. 

I do like the idea that Carr produced what may have been and OP's images are excellent in both quality of the image and the (fill in the blank with your favorite description of the representation) would be a nice to have to compare with the final approved issues of the coin. It would be nice to see all of the proposed designs for the Peace dollar next to each other and along side the different versions of the actual dollar. But that's just me.  

Very Nice - #4