• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Beginner Here just trying to figure out what i should do?

5 posts in this topic

My great uncle passed away recently and as i was cleaning out his house i found a bunch of coins and i have been trying to figure out what i should do with them do i just keep them in a safe as they are should i sell them should i try and get them graded??? so i decided to do some research and found this lovely thread after visiting the NGC site and was wondering if i could get some opinions.

So attached are pictures of a 1921 S Silver Morgan Dollar i believe and i would like to know, is this something i should have graded? what is it's value? is it worth keeping?

i was only capable of up loading this one photo for this thread if anyone would like to see more of it let me know

440530038_PhotoJan05125532PM.thumb.jpg.162313fa60d6b14d0ec0b7350fc54532.jpg

Normally there are very, very few cases in which you'd have a 1921-S Morgan graded by a TPG. Usually the cost of grading would exceed the coin's value, and the Philadelphia issue is extremely common, the branch mint issues only very common. Condolences on your uncle, and hope that some of the coins will bring glad memories. This one's probably worth $20-25, whereas slabbing (grading and encapsulation) would cost like $30-60. No benefit.