• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

1984 D RD very deep colored “Tangerine”
1 1

6 posts in this topic

Hello all. I am relatively new at learning all the coin grading terminology but feel I have come a long way in a short period of time. I LOVE pennies and always have. I decided to start looking through my somewhat endless collection and have come across a few beautiful examples of Lincoln cents. This one really stuck out when I pulled it from my coveted penny collection. The color tone of this coin, and it’s overall extremely good condition, brought me to this website which I just joined in the hopes of receiving some professional opinions. I do know that a “similar” penny, 1984 D RD sold at auction for $4,000+..... WOW. (I could only be so lucky... lol). I am more into collecting DD’s and varieties but this one was just too beautiful for me not share. The reverse is just as nice. Thank you in advance for any replies!! 

-Greg

image.jpg

Welcome to the forum.

Do you have a link to the auction in which the 1984D Lincoln sold for $4000? That is almost 6 times NGC retail for that year/mint mark in the highest grade (so far) - MS68, so I am wondering what was so special about that particular coin.

Thanks.

I really like the color on your, coin, by the way. (thumbsu

Edited by Just Bob

Hello and thank you for contacting me. Here is a screenshot straight from Heritage Auctions regarding that coin I referred to. 

5E56C5EC-D908-42DE-B1D3-50B442A17F00.png