• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Nice enough to grade?

12 posts in this topic

Thanks for the input .I thought the fact that it was a type2 clad doulble die and matched the marks of ddo-001 1965-101(26) on variety Vista would matter?It also matches the photo image on pcgs#147196.Thats why I'm a newbie,thanks again

1 hour ago, Coiname said:

heres a better shot of dd 

I see *something* at the E of Liberty, however, I don't see any of the other markers for the variety you listed. I can't tell what's at the E because the coin is entombed in something which could be distorting its surface quite significantly; that's why I asked if it was in Lucite. The other issue with it being in something like Lucite is going to be getting it out again so it can be properly evaluated before you can determine if it is the variety you believe it to be and what its true condition is. Entombment is usually a 1-way street; objects don't look as good out of the acrylic as in it. There's also a chance of damage to the coin in removing it from whatever it is in.

I strongly recommend leaving it as is; I agree with the others that it's not worth submitting. I see the PCGS cert for the AU58 you're referring to which was auctioned by Heritage at $360. However, if you look at the images of that coin, it's clearly superior to yours. 

If you really have to know, you could try removing it from the acrylic; the discussion has shown up here before: https://www.ngccoin.com/boards/topic/81934-altered-surfaces-removing-lucite/ as well as on a lot of other numismatic sites.

Edited by Kirt
remove picture