• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

1984 P Dime with some scratches? Planchet Error?
1 1

25 posts in this topic

I was wondering if ya'll can help me on this.  1984 P Dime with scratch on the reverse. Could it could just be a scratched panchet before the strike. 

But I am not an expert on dimes.  

20190809_170424.jpg

Edited by Dukemnm
Not Post mint damage, it came from mint set. Corrected Typo.

Ok, Update, this was from a Mint set. I can also see some doubling, but I will have to take a second look at it to make sure it is not MD. YOu can See it on The E-PLURIBUS-UNUM lettering. Some in the C and A in America. and CA are closed. ( not sure if CA should be that close together.) you can also notice doubling on the leaves to the right of the reverse, (see last Image). 

Ok. I agree that those are just abrasions from polishing, either of the Die or of the Coin, either way is nothing good. No Doubling. Only MD. I am not great at spotting DD'sof the letters and numbers but I know plenty about MD. This may make sense to you and apparently does to everyone but me...a DD will appear to add (oh brain fart) appear to add a kind of fullness to the character while MD takes the fullness away leaving the characters looking empty. Get it? I don't, but like I said-seems everyone else does. 

Have you looked online at other '84 P Dimes and compared them? Did I ask if you roll hunt or look only at pocket change? Very important to know the answer to that question. Otherwise I wouldn't ask it.

10 hours ago, KarenHolcomb said:

DD will appear to add (oh brain fart) appear to add a kind of fullness to the character while MD takes the fullness away leaving the characters looking empty. Get it?