• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

New to collecting and want to start with WW2

6 posts in this topic

So I am new to collecting coins but have always been interested WW2.  I am looking to collect coins from all countries involved and preferably ones with detailed engravings.  Any suggestions as to where I should start?  I do have a Walking Liberty, steel penny and a British halfpenny.

Hello and Welcome!

I think your idea to collect coins from all of the nations in World War II would be a great project, but it's going to be rather large.  There were a lot of nations who ended up fighting on the Allied side by the time the war ended, and both Nazi Germany and the Empire of Japan had a lot of conquered territories and satellite and puppet states.  What I would do is start by making a list of all of the nations that you would need coins from and then take a look around this site:

https://en.numista.com/catalogue/pays.php

This is a great World coin catalog, with a lot of information, including photos and mintages.  Our hosts provide a price guide for World coins here:

https://www.ngccoin.com/price-guide/world/

Then, once you've figured out which coins you want from which nations and fair prices for those coins, go shopping!  Check out dealers, both in brick and mortar shops and online.  It's fun to go shopping for a project! I'd like to close with a recommendation for your set.  Canada is one of the main countries I collect from and it is actually the country I collect the most from.  A World War II era issue from Canada I've always enjoyed is the 1942 Tombac 5 Cents.  I don't currently own one (I'm looking, but I'm picky), so here it is on Numista:

https://en.numista.com/catalogue/pieces412.html