• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

1800 half cent

14 posts in this topic

Hi, I was wondering if you experts out there can help me get an idea of what kind of grade this would get. I hope the pics come out. I'm not good at posting pics. Thanks in advance.

12011135_10200820906481190_6257655189054440489_n.jpg?oh=38389b5055ca2e9c140ed44c4fa65429&oe=5671B2CC

https://scontent-dfw1-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xaf1/v/t1.0-9/11825796_10200820906641194_3458795522859080003_n.jpg?oh=09869537c97541fe0ad62f4436f791f9&oe=56604DDC

The obverse is not coming up for my review, but going by the reverse, I'd say that the coin has something like VG sharpness, but is marked up and has been cleaned. I am going by only one side, but this is what I can draw from the reverse.

The 1800 half cent is an interesting issue. All of the coins were made from one die pair which means that there is only one die variety. The reverse is of the style of the late 1790s. That reverse survived to make a few of the 1802 over 0 half cents, which are known as "the old reverse." That is a very scarce coin of which there are perhaps 12 to 20 known, all of them with problems.

I hope that you will be able to post the obverse of your coin in a subsequent message.

Yes, you link worked.

The obverse is the same as the reverse. The coin has VG to Fine sharpness with quite a few marks, and it has been cleaned. The net grade would be in the Good+ category.

Don't feel badly. The first Draped Bust Half Cent I owned was an 1806, Small 6, Stemless, which is one of the most common varieties. It too had been cleaned and the reverse lettering was not complete. That still qualified it has a Good back in the mid 1960s.

Yes, you link worked.