• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Guess the Grade - 1948 Franklin

53 posts in this topic

I'm truly torn on this one. I could see the obverse grading as high as MS66 and the reverse looks much, much worse (a MS63 at best if it even grades). If the coin grades, I would guess MS64 FBL. In fairness, I think there is significant damage to the bell and I would probably put it in a details holder personally.

I agree, MS64, but not FBL . The mar in the fields on the back at 10 o'clock and the bell will keep it below MS65. All in all, a nice Frankie.

Edit: Ooooo, just saw the scratch on the bell yoke! :facepalm: No Grade

I am not good at grading this series. The obverse – MS 66 , reverse -those gashes probably look worse in the photo then in hand. I don’t think you would buy a coin in a details holder and I know you are smart enough not to submit a raw one that you thought would wind up in a details holder. So I will net grade the coin MS 64 FBL. Regardless of the grade I like the look and tone. It looks very frosty .

I am not good at grading this series. The obverse – MS 66 , reverse -those gashes probably look worse in the photo then in hand. I don’t think you would buy a coin in a details holder and I know you are smart enough not to submit a raw one that you thought would wind up in a details holder. So I will net grade the coin MS 64 FBL. Regardless of the grade I like the look and tone. It looks very frosty .

This is not my coin. Someone asked me my opinion on it, and I thought I would share it to see what y'all thought.