• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

If you were going to collect gold dollars....

24 posts in this topic

How would you do it? As part of the decision making process as to which series to go after next, I'm considering the gold dollars. They are attractive, interesting, and unusual - three of my criteria for my next set. However, a complete set is way beyond my price range, so I'm thinking if I do it I'll do a one-per-date set (which looks to be quite affordable with the proper selection of mintmarks). I suppose my question really is - if I do it, would it make more sense to do an AU set, or a MS-60-62 set. The later dates get pricey, but does AU gold look attractive? I have no experience with gold, so this would be a completely new area for me.

I suppose my question really is - if I do it, would it make more sense to do an AU set, or a MS-60-62 set. The later dates get pricey, but does AU gold look attractive?

Heck YES! I would strongly urge collecting in the AU-55/58 range, since such gold dollars are essentially indistinguishable from alleged MS-61/62s. I've cataloged enough hundreds of these diminutive pieces to know that for sure.

Incidentally, the same goes for Indian 2.50s and 5s.

I suppose my question really is - if I do it, would it make more sense to do an AU set, or a MS-60-62 set. The later dates get pricey, but does AU gold look attractive?

Heck YES! I would strongly urge collecting in the AU-55/58 range, since such gold dollars are essentially indistinguishable from alleged MS-61/62s. I've cataloged enough hundreds of these diminutive pieces to know that for sure.

Jason, are you registered with Scotsman? They always have a lot of nice gold in their auctions.

Chris