• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

What's The Big Deal About Customer Service?

17 posts in this topic

For over a year now, all I hear people talk about is how good NGC is with customer service and how bad PCGS is with it. My question is how much customer service is really involved with coin grading? You send in your coins, they charge you a fee and give you their opinion on them, and send them back to you. Seems pretty straightforward huh? I've been submitting coins to both places since 1986 and have never really had "a customer service " issue except for one time that I sent an overgraded coin back to NGC for review and it took over 8 months to get resolved after they agreed it was overgraded.

Do people make too much of this "customer service" thing?

Dragon

For me, it's the little things that add up.

You will always have a situation where you and the graders don't agree on a grade, it's just a fact of life. But NGC seems to give more attention to small stuff, like answering questions on these boards (not the once-a-month stuff like PCGS), quick responses to phone calls and e-mails, and the like. Those kinds of things seem to stick in the back of your mind.

As to the grading, why does it seem that you can take the same coin, send it in 3 or 4 times, get the piece bodybagged once, and 2 or 3 different grades when it slabs? I don't like that track record of inconsistency.

Do people make too much of this "customer service" thing?

Maybe. In your opinion, what is too much? Is it anywhere like how people will only buy PCGS slabs because they like the look? Or, how diehards over there refuse to post over here simply because this isn't the PCGS site?

Ok, I digress...